Bandits push Fours to Heat 22, but miss the Final


The Redcar Bears hosted the SGB Championship Four Team Finals day on Sunday afternoon which say all 11 teams battle over 34 heats plus an extra run off for the prestigious title.

The opening qualification saw all sides line up over 22 heats, with the top four making the 12-heat final with the four team members taking two races each and Berwick's Aaron Summers lined up to open the side's account in Heat Two and rocketed away to take the heat decisively over home star, Ben Barker to put Berwick in an early pole position, while Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen was out in Heat Four, having to settle for a third placed point as Workington's Rasmus Jensen and Edinburgh's Joel Andersson jostled for the major placings.

David Howe was sitting in second place in Heat Seven when Scunthorpe's Josh Auty hit the gas and flew round Glasgow's Claus Vissing and Howe to take second for himself behind winner Nico Covatti from Ipswich.

Sheffield star Lasse Bjerre went from last to first on the opening two bends of Heat 10 relegating Newcastle's Matej Kus to second and Berwick's skipper Kevin Doolan to third leaving them no chance of returning the favour while Summers added two to his total in Heat 14, pushing Peterborough's Michael Palm Toft all the way in a tough race.

Berwick's reserve Jye Etheridge came in for Howe in Heat 16 but the race had be halted when Barker was on the outside of Etheridge, but fell causing the referee to exclude the Redcar Bear which didn't go down well with the home fans, with Etheridge taking two points.

Etheridge then had the chance to get his Bandits into the final by wining Heat 22, and from the gate the Berwick reserve was leading, but unfortunately his speed abandoned him as he ended up last having been overhauled by Chris Harris of Glasgow, Ashley Morris of Newcastle and Jake Allen of Scunthorpe.

The final was won by Peterborough (22) ahead of Edinburgh (19), Glasgow (17) and Lakeside on 14.

Berwick's scores
1. Aaron Summers 3, 2 = 5
2. Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen 1,N = 1
3. David Howe 1,N = 1
4. Kevin Doolan 1,N = 1
Reserve: Jye Etheridge 2, 1, 0 = 3