Bandits hit the Birmingham trail on Wednesday


The Berwick "Mike Hope of Wooler Ltd." Bandits (Powered by Clear Energy Consulting) open their 2019 SGB Championship League campaign on Wednesday night at the Birmingham Brummies (7.30pm) with Bandits' number seven, Leon Flint, potentially being a key player (Photo above courtesy of TazMcd Photography - eyeing up success)

Flint, only 16, spent his speedway early-learning year as a Brummie in the 2018 National League, excelling in their red and yellow colours and that "local" knowledge could well help his Berwick side's fortunes on Wednesday along with his skipper, Kevin Doolan - the current joint track record holder at the midlands' Perry Barr circuit, although Berwick are now without two riders due to injury.

Missing in action are Jye Etheridge and Coty Garcia and have brought in guest Danny Ayres for the latter, who also has vast experience of the Birmingham circuit while rider replacement covers Etheridge's four outings, however the home side have rushed through two team changes to improve their chances.

They hand debuts to Adam Ellis and Nathan Stoneman tonight in place of Kyle Newman and Tobias Thomsen, although Berwick team boss, Gary Flint is still optimistic of making a good start to the season's main event saying: "We're looking forward to this one, and go into it with a fair bit of confidence and the aim is to start the league campaign strongly. Of course it's disappointing to lose Coty now, but I'm sure Danny will be a solid guest for us. Our team is full of characters and Danny will fit right into the setup."​

With solid performances on the road at Newcastle and Edinburgh in the Championship Shield, the Bandits have already built up a formidable reputation of tackling the best and getting results, so confidence is high!"

Wednesday's line-up:

BIRMINGHAM: Adam Ellis, James Shanes, Zach Wajtknecht, Ashley Morris, Ulrich Ostergaard (captain), Paco Castagna, Nathan Stoneman

BERWICK: Aaron Summers, Jye Etheridge - Rider replacement, Dany Gappmaier, Kevin Doolan (captain), Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen, Danny Ayres (guest), Leon Flint