Bandits at full power in Championship at Sheffield


The Olympus Marquees Berwick Bandits (Powered by Mike Hope, Wooler) travel to the Sheffield Tigers tonight (7.30pm) to open their SGB Championship account and are delighted to take a full-strength side to Owlerton Stadium.

"We're delighted to have both our injured guys, Dany Gappmaier and Ryan Blacklock back in harness for our first league match of the season tonight in South Yorkshire," Said Berwick's co-promoter, Scott Courtney, "Dany received a concussion at Newcastle a week past Sunday, but has now sat out his compulsory time on the side lines and is raring to get back on the track.

"Ryan would have been back on Saturday has he been allowed to after his crash over the safety fence at Ipswich last Thursday which certainly took its toll, but riders hate sitting out and doing nothing, so he too is as happy as they come to be back on a bike tonight. It means we have our two 1st choice reserves back tonight and that should give us that strength in depth back again."

Bandits' team manager Gary Havelock said after Saturday's cup exit he was keen to get a match on a big track: "We go to Sheffield this week, which I think will be a track we should perform well on as it a track we're more suited to. These tight technical tracks like Newcastle, Ipswich and Edinburgh are out of our comfort zone, but elsewhere I think we're going to prove what we can do and Sheffield is our first chance to do this. We should be able to keep it close tonight as all the lads ride big tracks well, and Dimitri Berge (pictured) is an ex-Tiger so maybe he can drop a few pointers in the direction of the other guy."

The League programme has been revamped in 2017, and tonight is the first of four encounters between the Bandits and the Tigers, two home and two away, at a track Berwick have produced a variety of results as over the seasons, and tonight will be a night the Berwick management will be hoping to see on of their best shows yet.

Tonight's line-up:

Sheffield: Josh Grajczonek, Josh Bates, Lasse Bjerre, Todd Kurtz, Kyle Howarth, Rob Branford, Jack Parkinson-Blackburn
Berwick: Lewis Bridger, Liam Carr, Dimitri Berge, Claus Vissing, Kevin Doolan, Dany Gappmaier, Ryan Blacklock.